Disabling Avatar Selection

Selecting an avatar is a good way for students to become personally involved with the program. However, teachers and administrators can manage student access to the avatar feature as needed. Administrators can disable the avatar feature completely, if necessary. Disabling the avatar feature will mean that no avatars will be displayed in students' dashboards or on the scoreboards, and students cannot access avatar selection.

  1. Click Admin.
  2. Click User Administration.
  3. For school administrators to enable or disable the avatar function at school level, click Edit school information.
  4. Click the School Code to edit the school profile.
  5. Click School Settings.
  6. Check the box next to Disable Avatar Selection.
  7. Click SUBMIT to save your changes.

If the administrator has chosen to leave the avatar feature enabled, teachers or administrators can still disable the avatar completely for individual students.

  1. Click Admin.
  2. Click User Administration.
  3. Click Edit student information.
  4. Select the class with the students for whom you wish to edit the settings. Click SUBMIT.
  5. Click the user name of the student whose settings you wish to edit.
  6. On the Edit User page, check the Disable Avatar Selection box.
  7. Click SUBMIT to save your changes.
If the administrator has chosen to leave the avatar feature enabled, teachers or administrators can limit the time that students can access the feature, if necessary. Limiting the avatar selection to be outside of school hours will mean that students can see their avatar if they've already set one up, but they won't be able to change their existing avatar during school hours.
  1. Click Admin.

  2. Click User Administration.

  3. Click Edit student and teacher Information.

  4. Select the class with the students for whom you wish to edit the settings. Click SUBMIT.

  5. To enable avatars during school hours, locate the specific student on the left and check the box under Avatars during School on the right. To enable for the entire class, check the box on the bottom next to All students listed above.

  6. Click SAVE CHANGES to save your changes.